'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
2005 Z71 Suburban 1500 sufficient to pull a trailer ?

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2008-08-26 5:32 PM
22 replies, 10147 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

lhoward31
Reg. Aug 2008
Posted 2008-08-25 6:50 AM (#90307)
Subject: 2005 Z71 Suburban 1500 sufficient to pull a trailer ?

Hello,

total newbie to this forum and horse trailering as well...

We have a 2005 Z71 Suburban and I was wondering if that was sufficient to pull a horse trailer with. It would be a 2 H BP trailer. So far I have learned that it would be a good idea to put a weight distributing hitch on it.

The trailer we are looking at is a 2004 Equispirit XL, 2H BP w/dressing room. I believe it weighs about 3500 pounds or so. Right now we would only be pulling one "regular" sized horse, maybe later down the road 2 of them, though.

Can we do it? (safely) Or should we look at buying a Brenderup trailer instead?

Buying a new truck is not in the equation right now ;)

Any particular weight distributing hitch you can recommend for our situation?

Thank you, appreciate the help :)

share Top of the page Bottom of the page
kohldad
Reg. Aug 2008
Posted 2008-08-25 10:36 AM (#90317 - in reply to #90307)
Subject: RE: 2005 Z71 Suburban 1500 sufficient to pull a trailer ?

On the weight distribution hitch, spend a little extra money and get a reese setup. It uses toothed wedges to hold the angle of the head. Do not get the types that keep the angle on the head with an adjustable bolt as the head will slowly push into the bar. When properly set up, a weight distribution hitch will push the front down within 1" of how much the rear was pushed down.